Version 5 Manual

Multi-user management

PingPlotter’s web interface allows administrators to create custom user profiles to prevent users from editing PingPlotter targets and summaries.

Enabling multi-user management

To enable multi-user management, you must first create an admin login. In the PingPlotter program, under EditOptionsWeb Server, select Require Login and enter your preferred username and password.

To create a new user profile for PingPlotter’s web interface, log into the web interface using your admin credentials. In the upper navbar, you will see the option to Manage Users.

On this screen, you can create a new user by selecting Create User. You will be asked to enter an email address (which will be used as the new username), a new password, and user permissions.

Defining user permissions

Each user permission enables specific management privileges for a section of the web interface:

  • Trace Management — The user may:
    • Add new targets to the All Targets summary and New Target windows
    • Pause active traces
    • Resume paused traces
    • Reset and restart traces
    • Stop and remove traces
  • Summary Management — The user may:
    • Create new summaries
    • Rename summaries
    • Delete summaries
    • Add traces to summaries
    • Remove traces from summaries
    • Create Live Shares of summaries
    • Edit Live Share link expiration dates
    • Enable Live Share links
    • Disable Live Share links
    • Delete Live Share links
    • Access all Live Share URLs
  • User Management — The user may:
    • Create new users
    • Delete users
    • Edit user passwords
    • Edit user permissions

A user may also be given none of these permissions, essentially creating a read-only user login. In that case, the user will only be able to:

  • View targets and summaries
  • See live data
  • Download data
  • Open timegraphs
  • View historical data
  • Edit browser-specific views (Columns, column-width, focus, etc.)

Once a user is created, the login and permissions can be modified or deleted by the admin or anyone with User Management privileges.

If Require Login is unchecked in the PingPlotter web server options, multi-user management will be disabled within the web interface.

**The feature in this topic is exclusive to PingPlotter Pro. See our product comparison page for more details**